A blog about casual gaming

1271
Lume

Lume

State of Play's new puzzle adventure title Lume might be made out of cardboard cutouts but it is in no way a one-dimensional game.

Bookmark and Share
Published by Meghan Chiampa on 25th June 2011

When the lights mysteriously go out in the colorful paper and cardboard world of Lume, it is up to protagonist Lumi (if you find that name cute, you'll like the game, it's a pretty cute also) to solve a series of puzzles her mysteriously missing grandfather has left for her. Solving puzzles grants access to a series of locked rooms, essential items and other goodies that will help Lumi in her quest.

You control little Lumi as she explores her grandfather's house and backyard. You are stuck at the house for the entire game essentially even though you have knowledge of the town over yonder. The setting may be geographically limited to about five to six rooms sans the puzzle screens, but that's not a bad thing (especially if you like escape from the room games).

In a neat touch, the game world of Lume appears to be made out of paper and cardboard. I especially liked the tiny string of colored lights outside of Grandpa's house that show how small the dollshouse like stage is. I really appreciated the creativity and detail that went into Lume's design by the small team at State of Play Games.

As point and click games go, Lume can be on the tough side, throwing at you a whole range of tricky seek-and-find, maths-based and classic point and click conundrums. One of the puzzles is extremely hard, or at least was for me. But the difficulty should not put you off. You can always take a break from puzzle solving to just admire the lush environments, indulge in random point and clicking to find items of interest or read about the history of the town of Lume, and Lumi and her family.

And, anyway, even when it is being hard, the game remains fun and one can't help but be drawn in by all the mystery and intrigue of the game's plot. Add to that smooth and simple controls and a captivating visual style, and you have as relaxing and appealing a point-and-click game as you could hope.

The soothing experience is reinforced by a soundtrack that you could meditate to. The music is so lovely indeed that after playing the game, I left it on in the background while browsing the web, just to keep on listening to it. The appeal of the music has not been missed by State of Play who have made it available for download here.

The only major disappointment I had with this game was how short it was. I was expecting an epic adventure, something I'd have to settle in and devote some serious time to, but the game only took me about two hours to beat. Then I found out that what I had just played was only the first episode of a series of games that are planned for release over the next couple of years. Goodbye disappointment, hello anticipation!

Download a copy of Lume here.


Bookmark and Share

Add comment

Submit
Published by niks on 25th May 2014
Awesome game :)
Published by Kartki ?wi?teczne on 14th December 2013
I like old school style games
Published by Dennis on 14th December 2013
not too difficult
Published by Jenks LeBeau on 12th November 2013
I see you do a lot of great reviews of games on your site/blog- keep it up!
Published by Butterfly67 on 6th August 2012
Have they stopped publishing articles? That´s the last one and it´s from 2011. :-(
Published by Jason on 2nd August 2012
I like old school style games, for sure
Published by more information on 17th July 2012
I love the artwork and it does look extremely playable / http://www.mediket2000.com
Published by Tutaj on 17th July 2012
There's something old school about the visual side of this game. Feels like a simple cartoon - http://www.olejekarganowy.net
Published by Tu on 17th July 2012
Looks like a great game to play / http://www.queensizebeddimensions.info/queen-size-bed-frame-dimensions/
Published by Mar on 14th July 2012
You articles are really interesting :)) keep it up
Published by gavin ross on 7th June 2012
Very good and cool games.I love to play online games. Its good to kill free time :). http://jogos-de-meninas.org/
Published by Sara@Hidden Object Games on 22nd February 2012
Lune is a good game. I liked the wide range of seek and find puzzles. I had difficulties with finding a few items. Luckily, the game has “pause” option, so I could think little more about it. All to all, this is a nice game.
Published by Jonas on 5th February 2012
I really liked the concept of grandfather leaving puzzles for her to solve. You can download this game at: http://www.pcgames4u.com
Published by Girl Gamer Juju on 1st February 2012
I like this. Must start right now! :-))))
Published by Graciela on 27th January 2012
I loved Lume - played it through in just one sitting as it was such a fun game! Nice review, btw.
Published by Spokhette on 27th January 2012
I adore the cuteness factor. I can't wait to try it! Thanks for letting me know about it!!
Published by ranna azam on 20th December 2011
this seems to be a cute and interesting game.. i really like the whole concept about grandfather leaving puzzles for lumi to solve..
Published by Kiron Ramdewar on 30th November 2011
This looks reeeeaaaallly familiar to a game I saw being released on Xbox Live. Can't remember for the life of me what it was called though.
Published by Girls Games on 10th September 2011
Hi, "Lume", it's a very cute name! I really liked the concept of grandfather leaving puzzles for her to solve. I am a keen Girls Games and spend my leisure in playing this games. It would be very nice if you could have gave some unique and creative shades in the character of lumi. Love!
Published by Sholly on 9th September 2011
Well, that sad. Really? I hope not. I found so many awesome games through this site. Well, time to go back through the archives and play all the ones I may have missed! By the time I'm done with that, maybe I'll find out they were just on a hiatus?
Published by Jason on 2nd September 2011
Yep, seems like the site may be dead :(
Published by Max on 13th August 2011
2 months without new posts...

Follow us

  • Twitter

    Be the first to hear about new posts by following us at @casualgirlgamer

  • Facebook

    Alternatively, you might want to become a fan of our facebook page, which you can find here.

  • RSS

    Subscribe to Casual Girl Gamer’s RSS feed here

  • Email

    Enter your email address below and we’ll keep you posted when we have new articles.

    Go

Game reviews

  • Lume

    State of Play's new puzzle adventure title Lume might be made out of cardboard cutouts but it is in no way a one-dimensional game.

    Read more
  • The Tiny Bang Story

    Beautiful hand-drawn graphics, nicely balanced and creative puzzles and a great sound track, The Tiny Bang Story delivers on all fronts.

    Read more
  • Castaway 2

    Robinson Crusoe had it lucky. He was only stranded on a desert island once. Things are not so easy for the hero of RPG adventure game series Castaway.

    Read more
  • ClubWorld

    If the idea of running your own nightclub gets you excited, then Tapulous's latest iOS game might have you dancing around with joy.

    Read more
  • Insectonator

    If the only good bug is a dead one, then you will be doing one helluva lot of good work in this cheery insect massacring game.

    Read more
> More game reviews

Popular articles

  • Best One Button Games

    It is amazing how much fun you can have with games that use just one button.

    Read more
  • Top ten war games that won't ruin your life

    Indulge your military fantasies with our selection of modern-warfare games that can be completed in an afternoon.

    Read more
  • Top 25 online Defend your Castle games

    We've scoured the internet and found what we think are the best defend your castle games you can play for free on the web.

    Read more
  • New Game Round-up

    Yet another crop of great new games, including a sequel to one of 2009's best point-and-click games, an underwater game based loosely on Herman Melville's legendary novel Moby Dick and an unusual game that aims to unleash your poetic potential.

    Read more
  • Top 10 Gravity Games

    The laws of physics might not work as you expect in our list of the ten best gravity-themed games you can play for free online.

    Read more
> More popular articles

Developer spotlights

  • Jake Elliott

    You won't find any resource-management or mindless slash and dash games in Jake Elliott's portfolio. What you will find are thought-provoking games that encourage you to ponder on the human experience.

    Read more
  • Con Artist Games

    Chris Condon of Con Artist Games has a reputation for developing some of the most polished games on the web. Casual Girl Gamer speaks to him about his gaming philosophy.

    Read more
  • Gregory Weir

    By combining great story-telling with imaginative game worlds, Gregory Weir has created some of the most thought-provoking games on the internet.

    Read more
  • John Cooney

    Armor Games' head of game development John Cooney - or jmtb02, as he is better known - is one of the most prolific and imaginative game developers around.

    Read more
  • Evan Miller

    In ImmorTall, indie developer Evan Miller created one of the most emotionally moving games to grace the internet. We speak to him about his gaming philosophy and plans for the future.

    Read more
  • Mateusz Skutnik

    Mateusz Skutnik is a rarity: a gifted artist who is also a skilled coder. He is responsible for some of the most beautiful casual games on the web.

    Read more
> More spotlights