A blog about casual gaming

1139
The Tiny Bang Story

The Tiny Bang Story

Beautiful hand-drawn graphics, nicely balanced and creative puzzles and a great sound track, The Tiny Bang Story delivers on all fronts.

Bookmark and Share
Published by Meghan Chiampa on 25th May 2011

The Tiny Bang Story is a point-and-click adventure/puzzle game developed by Colibri Games. The game is designed for users of any age who have active imaginations and are fans of classic logic puzzles. The Tiny Bang Story takes place on an obliterated planet which shattered into jigsaw pieces after being hit by an asteroid.

In order to advance through each level you are required to solve a portion of the jigsaw puzzle. The jigsaw puzzle contains small, but beautifully detailed animations such as shooting stars, waving tree branches and flowing water. The game feature the amazing hand-drawn graphics for which Colibri has become famous.

The storyline is open to interpretation. There are silent, curious inhabitants of the planet who speak in simple pictographs, hints to solve the puzzles you will encounter throughout the game.

The puzzles are various, classic but at the same time creative and unique to the game. They vary in design from seek-and-finds of parts that belong to a train you need to assemble, colour pattern alignment, sliding picture puzzles, memory games and there are even a few 8-bit games, reminiscent of old Atari shooters.

Each level is similar; you have to seek out and find collections of everyday items such as cogs, coloured balls, valves, fishing buoys and switches. After you find, say 25 coloured balls, you are allowed to access a puzzle that will ultimately help you complete the level.

The most fascinating aspect of The Tiny Bang Story is the exquisitely detailed, hand-drawn artwork. The landscape is whimsically natural and also oddly mechanical. The world is miniature with houses made out of glass bottles, tea kettles and shoes. Think The Secret of Nimh meets steampunk culture meets The Lord of the Rings on a nice sunny day.

The design was definitely my favourite feature of the game. I don't know if this is a dated reference, but it reminded me of the Myst series. You are a nameless, bodiless protagonist in a mysterious, broken and cryptic but visually gorgeous world. The game features a light, percussion based soundtrack, with jovial marimba beats and gentle woodwinds which are appropriate with the nature of the game.

The mystical ambience of The Tiny Bang Story has a lot to do with being alone and clueless in a lovely environment. You are forced to scan the entire landscape in each level since you must search for the various items which are hidden in plain sight or are disguised as other objects. So the brilliantly and uniquely detailed design is much appreciated and explored by the user.

Even though the plot is minuscule, The Tiny Bang Story is more of a work of art where you are required to explore and experience every magical, whimsical detail. Download a free demo of this point-and-click tour de force here.


Bookmark and Share

Add comment

Submit
Published by mmorpg on 27th August 2013
I love indie game. I think they have better gameplay that have cod or assassins. Mmo have better only
Published by gamekb on 20th May 2012
Thanks! It's a cool game.I liked it.
Published by Nati on 11th April 2012
It's an excellent game. Love it!
Published by Sandra on 22nd February 2012
One of the things I really liked about this game is the colorful scenes. The house with its interesting form and color, the fishing buoys, colored balls boat – make the game so nice for playing.
Published by ranna azam on 20th December 2011
great game. this puzzle seems to be a real fun..
Published by the_frickerman on 5th August 2011
I discovered this site like a year ago, and I'm still astonished how much time I get to spend here... And I love it! Thanks for the efforts of putting all this great games together.
Published by halfling on 9th June 2011
Awesome find. This game looks great, I love the artwork it is fantastic. I plan to share this with my daughter this weekend. She just turned 7 and has always been great at puzzles with an active imagination. Can't wait to hear what she thinks of this one. Thank you for sharing the find!

Follow us

  • Twitter

    Be the first to hear about new posts by following us at @casualgirlgamer

  • Facebook

    Alternatively, you might want to become a fan of our facebook page, which you can find here.

  • RSS

    Subscribe to Casual Girl Gamer’s RSS feed here

  • Email

    Enter your email address below and we’ll keep you posted when we have new articles.

    Go

Game reviews

  • Lume

    State of Play's new puzzle adventure title Lume might be made out of cardboard cutouts but it is in no way a one-dimensional game.

    Read more
  • The Tiny Bang Story

    Beautiful hand-drawn graphics, nicely balanced and creative puzzles and a great sound track, The Tiny Bang Story delivers on all fronts.

    Read more
  • Castaway 2

    Robinson Crusoe had it lucky. He was only stranded on a desert island once. Things are not so easy for the hero of RPG adventure game series Castaway.

    Read more
  • ClubWorld

    If the idea of running your own nightclub gets you excited, then Tapulous's latest iOS game might have you dancing around with joy.

    Read more
  • Insectonator

    If the only good bug is a dead one, then you will be doing one helluva lot of good work in this cheery insect massacring game.

    Read more
> More game reviews

Popular articles

  • Top ten war games that won't ruin your life

    Indulge your military fantasies with our selection of modern-warfare games that can be completed in an afternoon.

    Read more
  • The ten best online platform puzzle games

    Fancy something a bit more mentally challenging than usual? Then check out our list of the best online platform puzzle games.

    Read more
  • Five classic games that you can play in your browser

    In their day, they were at the bleeding edge of gaming technology. Now, you can play them in your browser for free. Oh, the humiliation.

    Read more
  • New Game Round-up

    Yet another crop of great new games, including a sequel to one of 2009's best point-and-click games, an underwater game based loosely on Herman Melville's legendary novel Moby Dick and an unusual game that aims to unleash your poetic potential.

    Read more
  • Top 10 running games

    Don't fret, you don't need to be fit or athletic to partake in the fun. Just sit back in your couch, fire up your favourite browser and play ten of the best running games available for free on the web.

    Read more
> More popular articles

Developer spotlights

  • Jake Elliott

    You won't find any resource-management or mindless slash and dash games in Jake Elliott's portfolio. What you will find are thought-provoking games that encourage you to ponder on the human experience.

    Read more
  • Con Artist Games

    Chris Condon of Con Artist Games has a reputation for developing some of the most polished games on the web. Casual Girl Gamer speaks to him about his gaming philosophy.

    Read more
  • Gregory Weir

    By combining great story-telling with imaginative game worlds, Gregory Weir has created some of the most thought-provoking games on the internet.

    Read more
  • John Cooney

    Armor Games' head of game development John Cooney - or jmtb02, as he is better known - is one of the most prolific and imaginative game developers around.

    Read more
  • Evan Miller

    In ImmorTall, indie developer Evan Miller created one of the most emotionally moving games to grace the internet. We speak to him about his gaming philosophy and plans for the future.

    Read more
  • Mateusz Skutnik

    Mateusz Skutnik is a rarity: a gifted artist who is also a skilled coder. He is responsible for some of the most beautiful casual games on the web.

    Read more
> More spotlights